Athletes

Crystal Salaz – MROC, Ninja Ranch, Firestorm Freerunning

Here we have competitor Crystal, age 33, Irvine, CA.

Athletic background?  Taekwondo 8-14, Kempo 15-18, Basketball, Volleyball and swimming in High school.  Since then, Competitive swing dancing and Spartan races. I competed in my first Ninja Comp this year.

Crystal Salaz

 

How long obstacle course training?  I have been training on obstacles since I started running OCR’s three years ago. I love the challenge and how much harder it pushed you. Running has always been boring to me, until I started running OCR’s.

Crystal Salaz (2)

Why obstacle training?   I will say that overcoming a difficult obstacle feels more gratifying than any type of competition I have ever done. It’s a battle against your comfortability. They constantly push you outside of your comfort zone. The commitment you have to have when launching for the unknown is a true test to how bad you want it. There is no room for “safe”

Why compete?  Motivation?  I love competing and always have. Watching the amazing women competitors is really inspiring. It motivates me to train harder and faster.

Favorite obstacle? Least favorite obstacle?  Favorite obstacle is any and all laches. I love launching across a room and most recently the warped wall.  My least favorite is the salmon ladder. I am still struggling with getting a good rhythm.

Personal interests (movies, hobbies, music, books, charities, etc.)?  Outside of Ninja and OCR training, I volunteer with two Non-Profit organizations. The first is The Burrito Project in Los Angeles who provide over 900 burritos, clothing and water to homeless people on skid row. And the second is Precious Lamb in Long beach who provide free daycare for rehabilitating families. I’m also a huge fan of supporting your community.

Something interesting about you?  Something most people don’t know about me is I come from a broken home and the foster care system. Foster care has continued to change and improve over the ears, but the struggle and loneliness of being an only child in the system, was something I have tried hard to combat with fitness and happiness. Because of that situation, I promised myself that no matter what I wanted to do in life, I would not let anything stop me for pursuing happiness. I just hope to inspire other kids out there that no matter how alone you might feel, if you show up every day with a smile and positive attitude you can get through anything. Believe in yourself and others will believe in you too.

Motto or how you live your life?

“It never gets easier, YOU just get better”

“Don’t look for happiness, create it”

Crystal Salaz (3)

Piece of advice for obstacle course training?   Cardio, Cardio, Cardio. You can have all the strength in the world, but without endurance you will falter.

Social media info, pics, videos, other links?

Precious Lamb http://www.preciouslamb.org/

The Burrito Project http://theburritoproject.org/locations/burrito-project-los-angeles

MROC: http://mroctraining.com/

Ninja Ranch: https://www.facebook.com/ninjaranchoceanside

Firestorm Freerunning: http://firestormfreerunning.com/

Facebook (fan Page) Crystal Salaz “athlete”

Facebook : Spartan Salaz

Instagram: @spartansalaz

Leave a Reply

